Where have you been?

It’s time to come clean . . . I have a secret.

For the past two years, I’ve been trying to work on an updated, revised edition of my cookbook, A Week with the Fake Gourmet. Life has been even more hectic and busy than ever, so “trying” all too often meant “avoiding.” But I’ve decided that it is time to stop procrastinating and get this project DONE!

What does that mean to YOU exactly? Maybe nothing. But it means a lot to me.

First, I hope that telling my secret will make me accountable for getting finished. I’m setting a goal for November so it is ready to publish before people begin Christmas shopping (and cooking!).

Second, it means that I have to start doing more cooking than I have been doing lately. I plan to include lots more photos in the new edition, which means cooking all those recipes and taking pictures while I am doing it! (Pictures are the hardest for me. I take my own and that’s hard to do when your hands are up to the elbows in food.)

Finally, it means I have to keep this blog updated more often. I had no idea it had been 5 YEARS since I posted anything! Now that all of my kids are out of the house, I don’t do as much cooking just for me and my mom. We have very different tastes in food and she doesn’t eat as much as most third graders, so quantity and variety are both issues. Our Sunday Night Dinner group is not as big as it used to be and we often rely on easy over inventive. Add the lack of social interaction due to Covid-19, and it all adds up to less time in the kitchen.

So it’s time to stop making excuses and get cooking! I hope you are willing to come along for the ride.

Leave a comment