How to Make a Loaf of Fresh, Homemade Bread in Only an Hour

What a perfect day on the water!
What a perfect day on the water!

Yesterday (Labor Day) was a perfect day at the lake. Boat rides, tubing, swimming, sunning, and EATING!

It was a big group, so we all brought something to share. Spending three hours making bread didn’t really appeal, but since no one else was bringing bread so I thought I probably should. I remembered seeing a 3-ingredient bread on Pinterest that required no rising and no kneading. This could be the perfect time to try it! After all, this group always has a few willing guinea pigs for a new recipe.

I finally found it at The Gingham Apron and realized I could get this knocked out, start to finish, in an hour!

Turned out pretty, no?
Turned out pretty, no?

So easy, too! First, in a medium-sized bowl, stir together 3 cups of self-rising flour and 1 cup of sugar. Once they are blended together, add one can (12 oz.) of 7 Up and stir until a soft dough forms and all the flour is worked in. (Be sure to check the center at the bottom of the bowl.) Pour the dough into a greased loaf pan and bake at 350 degrees for 50 minutes. That’s it!

I greased my pan with butter (of course) and then brushed a little more melted butter over the top of the loaf as soon as it came out of the oven. It was probably less than a tablespoon of butter total.

Use a knife to loosen the bread from the sides of the pan and then turn it out to cool on a wire rack as soon as you finish buttering the top.

This bread is very cakelike inside and crusty outside. When I make it again, I may reduce the cooking time by 5 minutes, just to make it easier to slice without destroying the pieces. I may also reduce the amount of sugar a bit for the benefit of my diet! (If you use diet 7-UP, that would also reduce the sugar. Let me know if you try that!)

Now, just to make you a little more envious of the perfect, relaxing day we had yesterday, I will close with this:

The end of a perfect day to end the summer.
The end of a perfect day to end the summer.

Leave a comment