Someone likes me! They really like me!

When I came in from play rehearsal last night, I was hovering over the gas logs trying to get warm and checking my phone for all the terribly important posts, messages, and memes that I missed. It’s always a little exciting to see that little “W” symbol at the top of the screen — it lets me know that something has happened with my blog. It might be a “like” on a post, or a new follow, or even a COMMENT! (See? I told you it was exciting!)

Lo and behold, it was indeed a comment .  . . and one that made me happy inside! I was nominated for my very first blogger award! Food Gurly awarded me the Sunshine Blogger Award today on her blog.  It feels amazing to have for-sure evidence that someone is actually reading this!

Look! I won an award! I am a Sunshine Blogger!
Look! I won an award! I am a Sunshine Blogger!

Of course, I was reminded of just how little I know about the blogging world because I had to go look up what it was! lol Here is what I found out:

THE RULES

  1. Include the Sunshine Award icon in your post and/or on your blog (I right clicked on the award image and saved it so I could put it in this post. I hope that’s ok. When I did a search, I found several image versions. I guess you could use one of those, too. Or make your own? I don’t know…)
  2. Link to the blogger who nominated you (yep, did that)
  3. Answer 10 questions about yourself (About to do that down there at the bottom. My nominees will answer the same questions on their blogs, so you can get to know them, too!)
  4. Nominate 10 other bloggers to receive the award (That’s a surprise — you have to keep reading to find out. All part of my diabolical plan to make you read my post!)
  5. Link to your nominees and let them know you nominated them (Working on it. Gimme a minute! :P)

Here are my 10 questions:

1. Why did you start blogging? This blog was started as a support tool for my cookbook, A Week with the Fake Gourmet: 20 Meals That Will Make People Think You Can Cook, with the hope that people would love it so much they would run right over to Amazon to buy the book. That has happened. Once, I think. 🙂 I started it with no real plan, other than to make posts with recipes and sometimes other stuff. So far, that has worked pretty well.

2. Sweet or Savoury? Probably sweet. I like savory, too, but the sweet tooth usually wins out. Just check out all the pins on my Pinterest page for proof.

3. If you were to go on any reality TV programme, what would it be and why? I’m not a huge reality tv fan. Most of them showcase the worst in everyone. However (isn’t there always a ‘however’?), I do enjoy watching some cooking shows, like Master Chef. I actually know someone who was on Cupcake Wars. And I think it would be fun to do a show like Rehab Addict or Flea Market Flip. 

4. What was the last thing you Googled? I had to check my phone for this one. (I love that my android phone syncs up with Google, so the stuff I search for on one device shows up in my history on the other!) “Throw an oscar party” — I am working on my second cookbook, which is about party food. The Oscars are Sunday. So there ya go.

5. Night In or Night Out? Depends. I love a night out with all the trimmings, but I really enjoy just hanging out with friends at one of our houses, too. I love board games and so do my close friends, so we do that pretty often.

6. What has been your favorite blog post to write? Hmmm… this one is tough. I enjoyed Cooking Lesson #42: Never Trust a Facebook Recipe because it was a funny story. I also like A love Letter to Trowbridge’s and a Banana Split because it is one of my favorite food stories from when I was a child. 

7. What’s the one thing you never leave home without? My phone. (Yes, this is the same answer as Food Gurly. It’s true. If I leave it, I have to go back for it. I once made it all the way to work without it and had to go back.)
8. Where would you most like to travel to? Greece, definitely. I have always found ancient Greece fascinating, so I would love to stand in some of the ruins there. Also, as a theatre person, standing in the Theatre at Epidaurus is high on my bucket list.

9. If you could have any super power, what would it be? Probably teleportation, so I could travel anywhere without the expense of getting there. Or maybe weather control.

10. What can we expect to find from your blog in the future? I’m probably going to keep posting recipes as I make them up. You may even see some excerpts from my next cookbook before much longer, so keep an eye out! 🙂

The same questions above are to be answered byyyy (drum roll, please . . . this is the suspenseful part)

  1.  eggton {salty wit and a sweet tooth}
  2. Listful Thinking
  3. Lumps, Lymph Nodes, Laundry, and Legos
  4. Rubber Shoes in Hell
  5. The Optimistic Househusband
  6. Cooking with a Wallflower
  7. The Pursuit of Riches
  8. What Would Nadia Do? 
  9. Everything I learn about Life, I Learn from My Students
  10. Cursivity

These blogs are in no particular order. A lot of them don’t have anything to do with food or cooking. Some of them don’t post all that often. But they are the ones I enjoy reading. The ones I am happy to see a new post from. So I thought you might enjoy them too! Go check them out and say congratulations on being a Sunshine Blogger!

If you liked this post, you might like some of the others on my blog. Go ahead and look around. 🙂 Click “like”. Follow the blog. Follow me on Facebook or Twitter. There are buttons for all of that up there. And if you really like it, you should check out the link to my cookbook. It’s over there on the left. See you in the kitchen!

9 thoughts on “Someone likes me! They really like me!

  1. I love the title of this post…that is totally what I would have been thinking in your position too! I am totally with you on number 7 & 8. We’re going to Greece during the Easter holidays – your comment has intrigued me research local historic sights before going. Well done on your award!

    Like

Leave a comment