Who exactly is the Fake Gourmet?

Today, I decided to join Blogging 101, because I’d like to improve my blog and get more visitors. I figured it couldn’t hurt and might help a lot. The first assignment was to write a post introducing myself.

Surely, at some point over the last year, I have done that. I scrolled back through my posts and discovered that, nope, I haven’t. The closest I’ve come is the About page on the blog. So it looks like the very first assignment will be helpful!

Hi. I’m Amanda. AKA The Fake Gourmet.

. . .

(I think the assignment probably means to do more than that. Hang on. Let me check. . . Yep. There’s more.)

What are you about? Why should they read your blog?

I started this blog as a support for my cookbook, A Week with the Fake Gourmet, which I published on Kindle a year ago. I knew that I enjoyed reading other people’s recipes and about their experiences in the kitchen. Maybe other people would enjoy reading mine and be interested enough to get my book.

I’m not sure that my blog posts have made me sell any more books, but I have had fun writing them.  I have connected with a few other people in the blogosphere. I also have a record of some of the recipes I’ve tried, in case I want to make them again.

I hope that my readers learn something about cooking — even if it is only that it is something they enjoy.

Who would you love to connect with via your blog?

I would love to meet more people who share my love of cooking and more who want to learn more about it.

If you blog successfully throughout the next year, what would you hope to have accomplished?

I would like to be more consistent in posting throughout the year, instead of in fits and starts like this past year.

The hardest thing has been remembering to take pictures so I can write about what I cooked!

The next hardest thing has been trying to decide how much of myself to include in the posts. Anyone can share a recipe. It takes something more to write yourself into the posts. And that’s kind of scary.

One thought on “Who exactly is the Fake Gourmet?

Leave a Reply

