Egg Bread Buns — I think I may make these all the time!

I love it when all the different pieces of my life come together to give me a great food idea.

About a month ago I ate lunch at a place called The Yellow Deli. My sandwich was on homemade egg bread, which was the most tender, delicious bread I’ve ever eaten. So that’s been rolling around in my head ever since.

After all the fancy, heavy food we’ve all eaten over the holidays, no one wanted to go to a lot of trouble for our weekly Sunday Night Dinner last night. So what’s the easiest thing in the world? Yep, sandwiches. All the leftovers were set out and people brought cheese and other toppings. We even had peanut butter and jelly!

Thank goodness for my bread machine! It meant that I could make something wonderful without much trouble (which was particularly great since I had been fighting a headache for two days). I remembered that the recipe book that came with my machine had an egg bread recipe I had never tried, so this seemed like the perfect time.

If you don’t have a bread machine, you can still make this recipe. I would assume that if you are willing to try the conversion, you have made bread before. Personally, I can’t make homemade bread without my machine, because I enjoy kneading it wayyyyy too much. 🙂

The recipe was designed for a loaf of bread, but I made it into individual buns instead. I felt like it would work better for sandwiches. The bonus is that it also takes less time, because they don’t have to rise or cook for quite as long.

Start by heating 1 cup + 2 tablespoons of milk (that’s 9 oz. if your measuring cup is marked for individual ounces) to 75-65 degrees. I usually pop it into the microwave to warm it. Heat it for about 30 seconds, stir it to make sure the heat is evenly distributed, then test the temperature. When my milk is cold from the refrigerator, it usually takes a couple of times at 30 seconds each, and maybe once at 20 seconds. Be careful that it isn’t too hot, or it will kill the yeast.

(My machine recommends adding the wet ingredients, followed by the dry. If your machine recommends something different, follow the suggestions for your machine for the best results.)

Put the warmed milk into your machine pan, then add 2 large eggs and 2 tablespoons of butter.

Add 4 cups of bread flour, 2 tablespoons sugar, 1 3/4 teaspoons salt, and 2 teaspoons active dry yeast/bread machine yeast.

I set my machine on the dough setting and let it do its thing. After about 10 minutes, check the dough. It should be smooth and slightly sticky. If it is too sticky, add a tablespoon of flour. If it is dry, or the machine is straining to mix the dough, add a tablespoon more milk.

When the dough is ready, gently turn it out onto a floured surface. Be careful not to handle the dough any more than you absolutely have to. Gently roll the dough back and forth with your hands to form a long snake, about 3-4 inches in diameter. Slice the snake into 1″ pieces, which you should fold in half and place on a baking stone (or sheet if you don’t have a stone). I was able to cut 15 out of my dough.

When you place the buns on the stone, be sure to leave 1-2″ between rolls, because they will spread as they rise.

Cover with a cloth and put in a warm place to rise for about 30 minutes. (I like to warm the oven to 200 degrees and then turn it off before putting the covered dough inside to rise.) The buns should be roughly double in size.

Once the buns have risen, remove the cover and bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes, or until golden brown.

Everyone loved the buns! They were light and tender, but sturdy enough to build a sandwich. Let me know how yours turn out!

Leave a Reply

