Turns out Auburn had better cupcakes, but I still say ROLL TIDE!

So this past weekend was a really important weekend (other than the whole Thanksgiving thing) — it was Iron Bowl weekend. The weekend that determines bragging rights for the next 365 days. The biggest rivalry in college football.

Naturally, since I had not one, but two, Iron Bowl parties to attend, I made cupcakes.  We are a house divided, meaning that some of us cheer for Alabama (ROLL TIDE!) and others cheer for Auburn.  So I had to make cupcakes for both sets of fans.

Alabama cupcakes were obvious — Red Velvet with cream cheese frosting. I took it a step further and added cinnamon white chocolate ganache as a filling. Really good, but not truly worthy of a whole blog post.

The Auburn cupcakes were a little trickier. After some Googling, I finally settled on this recipe posted by The Happy Baker: Orange Infused Blueberry Cupcakes.

O.M.G.

They were awesome!! At first, I was a little hesitant about the frosting, since it was a cream cheese based frosting. I was afraid it would be too similar to the frosting for the red velvet cupcakes. I couldn’t have been more wrong.

This orange frosting was some of the lightest, fluffiest frosting I have ever made. Ever ever.

I added the mandarin orange garnish myownself, but otherwise stuck to the recipe as written. This is one recipe that will definitely be made again. And again.

And again…

Cupcakes that Auburn OR Alabama fans would love!
Cupcakes that Auburn OR Alabama fans would love!
2 thoughts on “Turns out Auburn had better cupcakes, but I still say ROLL TIDE!

  1. I’m an Alabama fanatic (Roll Tide!), but I must say that I am very intrigued by the Auburn cupcakes and I’m going to have to try them! Thanks for sharing! Happy holidays and blessings to you! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

