Cows in blankets. You mean that’s a thing?

 

Summer means swimming, and boat rides, and grilling. Around here, it also means  drive-in movies! We are fortunate to live about 20 minutes from one of the 10 drive-ins left in Alabama. Last Saturday night, a whole group of us loaded up after a day on the lake and headed down for a cheap double feature. (Six bucks for adults. Total. Even if the movie isn’t very good, you can’t complain too much about three bucks a movie.) There’s still a full-service concession stand with burgers on site, but I was trying to be budget conscious and took my own food. (Yeah, they don’t care if you do that. We took a watermelon to cut, too.)

I decided it was a great time to make Cows in Blankets.

A cow in a blanket. Not what you were expecting, huh?
A cow in a blanket. Not what you were expecting, huh?

What? You don’t know what that is? 

A couple of years ago, my friends and I were planning to ride the fan bus to the Friday night high school football game. There was no planned dinner stop, so we were taking a cooler of food to have on the bus. There just happened to be leftover burger patties  in the fridge, and pigs in blankets were already in the works, so it wasn’t a big leap to put blankets on the burgers. And that’s how Cows in Blankets were born! (The name seemed like an obvious choice.)

UPDATE: I have to completely give credit to my friend, Martin, for coming up with this idea. I would have never thought of it myself. We are all very happy that he did think of it.

Cows in blankets are a great way to use leftover burgers after a cookout!
Cows in blankets are a great way to use leftover burgers after a cookout!

I took a pound of ground chuck, added an egg, dumped in some seasoning (I like the Mrs. Dash Garlic and Herb, but use whatever you like) and bread crumbs, and made 4 burger patties. I fired up the gas grill (no dishes to scrub!) and dropped them on. Finally, I added a slice of cheese on top.

(I recently learned that if you make a well in the center of the patties with your thumb before putting them on the grill or griddle, it keeps them from shrinking while cooking. Who knew?)

After the burgers cooled,  I used one package of crescent rolls to wrap the burgers — two crescent triangles per patty. Then pop them in the oven at 375 until they are brown. I waited to brown them until right before leaving, and then wrapped each one in foil. I carried them in an insulated bag, and they stayed warm for a couple of hours!

Foil-wrapped to keep it warm until you want to eat it,
Foil-wrapped to keep it warm until you want to eat it,

If you want condiments, you have to dip into them as you eat, because it doesn’t work very well to try to add them before the blankets.

These are great self-contained meals and really yummy, too!

 

Leave a Reply

