There’s a reason I haven’t been posting…

This post has very little to do with food.

I haven’t posted much lately, mostly because there have been some changes in my life that I’ve been working on getting balanced with everything else. 

But even those changes were thrown out the window earlier this week. On Tuesday afternoon, I got a phone call that I had hoped to never get. My 6-year-old grandson went into cardiac arrest and was taken to the hospital in critical condition. 

Our family has been through this with my son (his father), beginning about 11 years ago. He received a heart transplant 4 years ago and is doing great. They have always watched the little man closely for signs of his inheriting the same condition, but it hasn’t shown up until now. 

My son and I live 10 hours away from him, so it was a LONG couple of days with lots of driving and crying, and very little sleep.  He is stable now and doing better, but we won’t truly know his condition for another day or two. We are spending all of our time at the hospital or trying to get some rest at a nearby motel. 

Needless to say, I won’t be doing much cooking anytime soon. For now, I’m happy if I don’t have to open a cellophane wrapper before eating. 🙂 

I’ll be back when I can.

4 thoughts on “There’s a reason I haven’t been posting…

  1. I just saw this and I’m so sorry that I didn’t comment sooner. I hope so badly that your grandson is healthy again. I’m so sorry your family is going through this.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much. I haven’t really been on here since it happened. Just dealing with life in a moment to moment kind of way. Bone crushing exhaustion and mental anguish don’t lend themselves to productive anything really, but certainly not blogging about food. I hope to get back to it soon. He is better. Not well, but better. Still a long recovery ahead.

      Like

Leave a Reply

