Cooking with Thin Mints … yeah, THAT’S gonna happen!

Today is National Chocolate Mint Day.

Also my oldest son’s birthday (HAPPY BIRTHDAY, NICK!). But he doesn’t like chocolate mint. Or much else either, when it comes to food. If it hadn’t been for peanut butter, I’m not sure he would have survived to become a grown up. But I digress . . .

I am not necessarily a chocolate mint lover. I am not a big fan of mint chocolate chip ice cream, for example. I think the mint gets all in the way of the chocolate chips, which are the really important part.

I am, however, a HUGE fan of Thin Mint Girl Scout cookies. Also York Peppermint Patties. And occasionally Andes mints, but not often.

This time of year, I have to avert my eyes to keep from jumping right onto the display tables manned by the little Girl Scouts outside of Wal-Mart. And Sam’s Club. And Target. And all the other places they are lying in wait for me. (It doesn’t help that one of my good friends WORKS for the Girl Scouts organization, so she ALWAYS has them.

I know this is what you hear when you walk by that card table stacked with cookies . . .
I know this is what you hear when you walk by that card table stacked with cookies . . .

So this post was going to be all about how you could use Thin Mint cookies in recipes. Then I thought, who am I kidding? No one is going to buy enough boxes of Thin Mints at once for ANY of them to make it into a recipe for something else. Seriously. You know you are going to open the box on the way home and at least half a sleeve is gone before you ever get out of the car. The other half sleeve will be the reward for putting up the rest of your purchases.

If you have truly excellent willpower, the second sleeve MIGHT make it to dinner time for dessert. Or you may just eat an early dinner that doesn’t require cooking so you can get to dessert sooner. Or the Thin Mints can be dinner. Whichever.

So there’s one box gone.

If you bought more than one at a time, you may have put the second box in the freezer so the cookies will be nice and cold. Congratulations if you are able to leave them there long enough to freeze. You know you are going to get into those bad boys before bedtime. And probably at breakfast with your coffee. And before you know it, that box is gone, too.

It’s a relief when they are gone, really. You don’t have to keep getting up and going to the cabinet or freezer to get “just a couple more.” And you don’t have to hide the empty wrappers in the couch cushions so no one will know you ate the whole sleeve.

So how many boxes of Thin Mints would it take to use some in a recipe?

The world may never know . . .

owl

If you liked this post, leave me a comment. I’d love to hear from you! Or follow the blog, like me on Facebook, or follow me on Twitter. There are buttons for all that stuff up there! See you in the kitchen!

And don’t forget to check out my book — “A Week with the Fake Gourmet: 20 Meals That Will Make People Think You Can Cook”. Just click on the link on the left side of the page!

4 thoughts on “Cooking with Thin Mints … yeah, THAT’S gonna happen!

  1. I am checking my freezer now to make sure I did in fact eat all of the thin mints I purchased last year… Dang I did. There goes my carb party for one I was beginning to look forward to!

    Like

Leave a Reply

