Are the snacks as great as the Superbowl?

Last week I was browsing around on Pinterest and saw a post for Pesto Bacon Pizza Bites.

“Ohhh…that sounds good!”

My daughter heard me and asked what I was looking at. When I told her, she immediately said, “You HAVE to make those!”

So it was that easy to decide what snack I was going to make for Superbowl Sunday.

Yesterday morning, I broke out the bread machine to make dough for the crust. I have a tried and true recipe for pizza dough, but since I wanted to make a thin crust I decided to try a different one. It was the recipe in the book that came with the machine and I didn’t remember trying it before, so I thought I’d give it a shot. (You can buy premade dough for pizza if you don’t want to make your own from scratch.)

It was enough to make two crusts, so I decided that I would ALSO make breadsticks.

I rolled out the first crust on a baking stone. Well, I guess you could call it rolling. Mostly I was pushing the rolling pin with one hand and holding on to the stone with the other. The dough was a little harder to roll out than I thought. Maybe rolling it out directly on the stone wasn’t the best idea. . .

Anyway, I got it rolled out and spread some pesto on it. It was premade pesto and had been in the fridge for a while, so I probably should have added a little more olive oil to it. Unfortunately, making the dough used the last of my olive oil. Sigh. So I spread it around as best I could.

Then I added bacon. I crumbled up about 6 or 7 strips on it. I cooked them really crisp (I did NOT burn them . . . the sections with a little black on them were just a little crisper than the other sections.) so they crumbled easily.

That’s it. I popped it in the oven on 400 and started the breadsticks.

Once again, I fought with the baking stone. (Sometimes it takes me a little bit of time to learn.) I cut it into sticks with a sharp knife, brushed them with melted butter, and then sprinkled on some garlic and herb seasoning and topped that with parmesan cheese.  Then into the oven with that one.

And I waited. And I waited.

After about 15 minutes, I started checking the pesto crust. No brown at all, but starting to crisp up. And they smelled amazing!!

I waited some more. And some more.

Look great . . . taste . . . only okay.
Look great . . . taste . . . only okay.

Finally, after about another 10-15 minutes, I went ahead and took the pesto bacon squares out of the oven. I cut them into squares with a pizza cutter and put them in the basket.

About 5 minutes later, I took out the breadsticks and added them to the basket.

None of the crust was terribly brown, but it was done and I was ready to go to the party!

Turned out okay, but the crust was a little bland, according to my daughter. (I don’t think I’ll try that crust recipe again!)

The verdict: Disappointing — they smelled and looked better than they tasted.

Sort of like the Superbowl this year.

If you liked this post, go ahead and leave me a comment! Or follow the blog. Or “like” me on Facebook, or follow me on Twitter! There are buttons for all of that up there at the top!

2 thoughts on “Are the snacks as great as the Superbowl?

Leave a Reply

