Amaretto Balls (nothing weird, just candy)

I have been working on recipes for the second Fake Gourmet cookbook. It has been fun looking back through the hand-written recipe book I’ve been keeping since high school. For some reason, when I started keeping it, I actually made a note of where the recipe came from. (So glad I was thinking of my future self!)

I have found several recipes that I had completely forgotten about, and a few I kind of wish I could forget again. Mostly, though, it had made me want to make some of those old recipes. Like this one: Amaretto Balls. I made these for the first really big, kinda formal, Christmas party that I hosted when I was in college. (Which was quite a party, I must say. but that’s probably a story for another day…) I haven’t made them in years, but now I’m thinking I may have to make them again. Soon.

Since I haven’t made them in so long, I don’t have a picture. But if you do a Google image search for amaretto balls, you get lots, so if you really need a visual, they are out there. (Just out of curiosity, I did that search with the “safe search” turned off, but nothing really exciting happened. Just pictures of candy. So don’t bother.)

No picture of amaretto balls, but here's pic of my friend's Doberman trying to come in the poodle sized pet door. Funny, huh?
No picture of amaretto balls, but here’s pic of my friend’s Doberman trying to come in the poodle sized pet door. Funny, huh?

These are really, really good and pretty easy to make. Store them in an airtight container, IF you have any leftovers!

Melt a 6 oz. bag of chocolate chips in a double boiler. (You can use the microwave, but once the chips are melted, you need to transfer them to a saucepan for the next steps. Big mess.)

Stir in ½ cup sugar and 3 tablespoons white Karo syrup until the mixture is smooth. Add ½ c. amaretto and stir until combined.

Add 2 ½ cups of crushed vanilla wafers* (about 1 12-oz. box) and 1 cup of finely chopped pecans. Stir until the nuts and cookie crumbs are evenly distributed.

*To make crushed vanilla wafers: put a few cookies in a plastic baggie and seal it. Use a rolling pin or the back of a large spoon to crush them into fine crumbs. Pour the crumbs into a measuring cup and repeat until you have the desired amount.

Form the mixture into balls and roll in confectioners sugar to coat.

This will make about 5 ½ dozen bite-sized balls.

SUBSTITUTIONS:

*You can use Kahlua instead of amaretto for a different taste.

*Graham cracker crumbs will work the same as vanilla wafers.

*Try walnuts instead of pecans.

Keep in mind that since these aren’t cooked, the alcohol content is still there. So maybe don’t give them to the kids. Which means there are more for YOU! 🙂

Leave a Reply

