Grab a spoon – it’s National Peanut Butter Day!

Imagine how cheated I felt when I found out AFTER LUNCH that today is National Peanut Butter Day! I could have had a peanut butter sandwich, and I didn’t. I could have enjoyed a peanut butter shake, and I stuck with coffee. I could have even had some peanut butter crackers, but I didn’t do that either. Sigh.

The only reason I even knew about it at all is because Paula Deen tweeted about it and gave a link to these peanut butter cookies. Yay, Paula! (I have no idea why she calls them “magical” — I saw no evidence of Lucky Charms or elves or anything.)

Opening the whole package at once makes it easier to get a spoon into it. And thus easier to get to your mouth!
Opening the whole package at once makes it easier to get a spoon into it. And thus easier to get to your mouth!

Of course, let’s be honest. Raise your hand if you would be just as happy with store-bought peanut butter cookie dough. Raising hand(s). Yep. It’s just easier. And faster.

Here’s a hint — if you want your store-bought cookie dough to LOOK homemade, make sure you do that criss-cross thing with a fork. Then sprinkle some sugar over the top of the cookies before you put them in the oven. You can even add a chocolate kiss on top at the end of the baking cycle, just like the homemade kind.

So don’t feel too bad about store-bought cookie dough. And if you do, check out Paula Deen’s recipe. (You know you can eat either one with a spoon, right?)

If you liked this post, leave me a comment, like the post, or follow my blog! You can check out other posts over there on the right side or hit “follow” up at the top. You can also “like” me on Facebook (www.facebook.com/fakegourmet) or follow me on Twitter (@thefakegourmet). See you in the kitchen!

Leave a Reply

