How much do you love your friends? Enough to thank them with chocolate, bourbon, and pecan pie?

Little bits of bourbon-flavored heaven
Little bits of bourbon-flavored heaven

Recently, a friend helped me move a lot of stuff when it was reallyreallyreally cold. He did this cheerfully on two different days without complaint or eye rolling or anything. As a thank you, I decided I should bake/cook something special for him. I messaged his wife (also a friend of mine) and asked what his favorite food/goodie was and explained why. She seemed to think that he would be happy with just about anything, but that she was pretty sure he liked pecan pie a lot.

So I fired up the great Google machine and started searching. Just pecan pie? Kind of boring. I wanted something special. Hmm…could pecan pie and cupcakes be combined??? I typed it in and the top link was for Chocolate Bourbon Pecan Pie Cupcakes with Butter Pecan Frosting.

O.M.G.

Pecan pie? Check. Chocolate? Check. Bourbon? Check. Pretty sure I couldn’t go wrong.

Well, not far anyway. Be warned — these little bits of heaven take a while to make. At least 2 hours. And I should have taken longer (I’ll explain that in a minute), but I was trying to finish them for same day delivery.

I actually made these as instructed in the recipe…mostly. I was a little short on bourbon. It worked out okay. I also didn’t notice that you are supposed to double the frosting recipe if you plan to pipe the frosting. I doubled it, but was a bit short on confectioner’s sugar. It tasted divine, but never wanted to set up enough to pipe it. I also was trying to hurry it along and probably didn’t let it cool enough before adding the confectioner’s sugar, so…

The pecan pie insides and  praline-ish frosting.
The pecan pie insides and praline-ish frosting.

I ended up with lots of frosting left over, since I couldn’t pipe it. (That upset me greatly…not.) I’m planning to use is as filling between cookies just cuz I’m awesome like that. It’s like eating pralines with a spoon.

Try them out. Totally worth it.

3 thoughts on “How much do you love your friends? Enough to thank them with chocolate, bourbon, and pecan pie?

Leave a Reply

