And the heavens opened, and lo, I was blessed with awesome cupcakes!

It is rare for me to follow a recipe exactly as written. Instead, I tweak and combine and substitute, trying to make it fit my palate. I am particularly guilty of this with cupcakes. I blame it on Cupcake Wars.

One day when I was searching the internet for cupcake recipes, I found this one: Salted Caramel Mocha Cupcakes. I don’t even remember what I was originally searching for, but when I found this one, I was pretty sure I had found a ticket to cupcake nirvana.

What may be the best cupcakes. Ever. Anywhere. This picture is proof -- these are the ones I made.
What may be the best cupcakes. Ever. Anywhere. This picture is proof — these are the ones I made.

It had everything – coffee, caramel, chocolate, whipped cream… and then I did what I almost never do. I FOLLOWED THE RECIPE. EXACTLY. And ever since, I have thanked the internet cupcake deities for leading me to it.

Even my son, who doesn’t like coffee (I know. I know. Sometimes your kids are just rebels.), adored them. So much so that he requested that I make them again as my contribution to his junior prom dinner. And then those kids and parents started asking for them. Definitely a success, in spite of not having really cute teacups to bake them in.

I will warn you ahead of time – this recipe is NOT for beginners or the easily intimidated. They aren’t that difficult, really, but the recipe does involve four different individual recipes. It takes a while. The results are soooo worth it though.

And as a bonus, if you have any salted caramel sauce left over, it works GREAT over ice cream! So that’s a double win!

One thought on “And the heavens opened, and lo, I was blessed with awesome cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

